Mondadori Store

Trova Mondadori Store

Benvenuto
Accedi o registrati

lista preferiti

Per utilizzare la funzione prodotti desiderati devi accedere o registrarti

Vai al carrello
 prodotti nel carrello

Totale  articoli

0,00 € IVA Inclusa

"A shining story of a young girl who struggles to come of age and find her place in a world fraught with danger." Susan Campbell Bartoletti, Newbery Honor-winning author of Hitler Youth

* Winner of the Youth Prize at the Angoulême International Comics Festival (voted by readers) * Winner of the Artémisia Prize for Historical Fiction * Winner of the Andersen Premio Prize *

A magnificent narrative inspired by a true survival story that asks universal questions about a young girl's coming of age story, her identity, her passions, and her first loves.

At the Sèvres Children's Home outside Paris, Rachel Cohen has discovered her passionphotography. Although she hasn't heard from her parents in months, she loves the people at her school, adores capturing what she sees in pictures, and tries not to worry too much about Hitler's war. But as France buckles under the Nazi regime, danger closes in, and Rachel must change her name and go into hiding.

As Catherine Colin, Rachel Cohen is faced with leaving the Sèvres Homeand the friends she made therebehind. But with her beautiful camera, Catherine possesses an object with the power to remember. For the rest of the war, Catherine bears witness to her own journey, and to the countless heroes whose courage and generosity saved the lives of many, including her own.

Based on the author's mother's own experiences as a hidden child in France during World War II, Catherine's War is one of the most accessible historical graphic novels featuring a powerful girl since Persepolis by Marjane Satrapiperfect for fans of Markus Zusak's The Book Thief, Anne Frank, or Helen Keller.

Includes a map and photographs of the real Catherine and her wartime experiences, as well as an interview with author Julia Billet.

"Many of the settings are beautifully detailed, and the characters undeniably expressive. Catherine's ability to find beauty in the world makes for a forward-looking read." **Booklist *(starred review)*

"This story will make readers want to join the Resistance. Characters are drawn so vividly that, long afterward, readers will remember their names." Kirkus

An Indie Next List Pick!

*A Junior Library Guild selection*

Dettagli

Generi Bambini e Ragazzi » Narrativa » Avventura, giallo, thriller » Narrativa

Editore Harperalley

Formato Ebook (senza DRM)

Pubblicato 21/01/2020

Lingua Inglese

EAN-13 9780062915610

0 recensioni dei lettori  media voto 0  su  5

Scrivi una recensione per "Catherine's War"

Catherine
 

Accedi o Registrati  per aggiungere una recensione

usa questo box per dare una valutazione all'articolo: leggi le linee guida
torna su Torna in cima