Mondadori Store

Trova Mondadori Store

Benvenuto
Accedi o registrati

lista preferiti

Per utilizzare la funzione prodotti desiderati devi accedere o registrarti

Vai al carrello
 prodotti nel carrello

Totale  articoli

0,00 € IVA Inclusa

Chicago
Chicago

Chicago

David Mamet
pubblicato da HarperCollins Publishers Inc

Prezzo online:
15,85
16,68
-5 %
16,68
Disponibile. la disponibilità è espressa in giorni lavorativi e fa riferimento ad un singolo pezzo
32 punti carta PAYBACK
Prodotto acquistabile con Carta del Docente e 18App

A big-shouldered, big-trouble thriller set in mobbed-up 1920s Chicago-a city where some people knew too much, and where everyone should have known better-by the Oscar-nominated screenwriter of The Untouchables and Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright of Glengarry Glen Ross. Mike Hodge-veteran of the Great War, big shot of the Chicago Tribune, medium fry-probably shouldn't have fallen in love with Annie Walsh. Then, again, maybe the man who killed Annie Walsh have known better than to trifle with Mike Hodge. In Chicago, David Mamet has created a bracing, kaleidoscopic page-turner that roars through the Windy City's underground on its way to a thunderclap of a conclusion. Here is not only his first novel in more than two decades, but the book he has been building to for his whole career. Mixing some of his most brilliant fictional creations with actual figures of the era, suffused with trademark Mamet Speak, richness of voice, pace, and brio, and exploring-as no other writer can-questions of honor, deceit, revenge, and devotion, Chicago is that rarest of literary creations: a book that combines spectacular elegance of craft with a kinetic wallop as fierce as the February wind gusting off Lake Michigan.

La nostra recensione

All the trademarks of a Mamet production - electric dialogue and a hurtling pace. -- New York Times As if Cormac McCarthy had decamped from Southwest to Midwest...Chicago feels like one of the great American male novelists of the late 20th century - Updike, Mailer, Bellow, Roth-trying his hand at writing a genre novel. But unlike those novelists' somewhat less sure-footed lunges...Mamet lands this with aplomb. -- Los Angeles Times Splendid... a riveting crime drama in a throwback journalistic world, a time when you could yell for a copy boy to bring you Dixie cups for your illegal liquor. But this novel has a romantic heart, and the emotional stakes complement the whiskey-drenched whodunit. -- USA Today Tommy guns, bootleggers and hard-living newsmen: David Mamet adds a vivid novel to a legendary tradition. -- Wall Street Journal Chicago is tremendous fun, with much to savour. -- The Times Literary Supplement Acclaimed playwright (Glengarry Glen Ross) and screenwriter (The Untouchables) Mamet unpacks his literary arsenal in his first novel in two decades.... Mamet offers a master class on dialogue.... For readers of Elmore Leonard and Dennis Lehane. -- Booklist (starred review) The story moves at a careening pace... Of a piece with character studies such as E.L. Doctorow's Ragtime and John Sayles' Eight Men Out, Mamet's book does Chicago-and organized crime-proud. An evocative, impressive return that Mamet fans will welcome. -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review) Full of twists and surprises...Mamet's new novel is a treasure, a piece of fictitious history entrenched in an era of violence and love. -- Harvard Crimson The finest American writer of his generation. -- Sunday Mail

Dettagli

Generi Literature & Fiction » Modern Fiction

Editore Harpercollins Publishers Inc

Formato Paperback / softback

Pubblicato 29/11/2018

Pagine 352

Lingua Inglese

Isbn o codice id 9780062797209

0 recensioni dei lettori  media voto 0  su  5

Scrivi una recensione per "Chicago"

Chicago
 

Accedi o Registrati  per aggiungere una recensione

usa questo box per dare una valutazione all'articolo: leggi le linee guida
torna su Torna in cima