Mondadori Store

Trova Mondadori Store

Benvenuto
Accedi o registrati

lista preferiti

Per utilizzare la funzione prodotti desiderati devi accedere o registrarti

Vai al carrello
 prodotti nel carrello

Totale  articoli

0,00 € IVA Inclusa

Raping the Gods (Again!): A Tale of Drunken Badness

Brian Whitney
pubblicato da StrawberryBooks

Prezzo online:
2,77

"Imagine if Bukowski got drunk and wrote Stephen King's book of advice for aspiring authors, On Writing. The result would be a lot like Raping the Gods (Again!)."

-Patrick Quinlan, Los Angeles Times bestselling author of All Those Moments

In the tradition of Charles Bukowski and Hunter Thompson, comes a black comedy about professional writers and the work they do. Oh yeah, and about alcoholism, male camaraderie, and the dark side of sex. And also women.

Brian Whitney is back (again!) - he's a dissolute, dead broke, alcoholic writer in Portland, Maine. This time, it looks like he's found the career breakthrough he's been waiting for.

He's been hired to co-write the memoirs of Leon Powell, the infamous Cannibal Cheater of New York City tabloid fame. Leon once had a thriving career as a so-called "cheating coach," a man who taught other men how to successfully cheat on their wives and significant others.

But Leon has a dark side. He harbors fantasies of kidnapping, killing and eating women, and indulged these fantasies in role plays with like-minded partners online. Leon thought this was harmless, since he never actually kidnapped, killed, or ate anyone. His wife didn't agree. Nor did the New York City Police Department.

Leon is out of jail, and eager to get his story out. He and Brian team up to write the book. Brian is intrigued by the notion of locking up a man for his thoughts. Also, he wants to make money. Leon just wants to get back on top. And make money.

Together, they navigate the world of literary agents, publishers, TV shows, newspapers, and low-budget filmmakers. Also there are bars, especially bars that serve a free hot dog with every drink, and the denizens of bars. Also, there's women.

They spend a lot of time in bars.

About the Author

Brian Whitney has been a prisoner advocate, a landscaper, and a homeless outreach worker. His interests include ruminating and perseverating. He has written or co-authored numerous books, and has been featured in Newsweek, Esquire, Inside Edition, Dr. Phil, Fox News, People.com, Cracked.com, True Murder, and True Crime Garage. He has written for Alternet, Pacific Standard Magazine, Paste Magazine, and many other places.

He appeared at CrimeCon in 2019.

Dettagli

Generi Romanzi e Letterature » Romanzi contemporanei , Hobby e Tempo libero » Umorismo » Libri per ridere e collezioni umoristiche

Editore Strawberrybooks

Formato Ebook con Adobe DRM

Pubblicato 06/04/2020

Lingua Inglese

EAN-13 9780463737156

0 recensioni dei lettori  media voto 0  su  5

Scrivi una recensione per "Raping the Gods (Again!): A Tale of Drunken Badness"

Raping the Gods (Again!): A Tale of Drunken Badness
 

Accedi o Registrati  per aggiungere una recensione

usa questo box per dare una valutazione all'articolo: leggi le linee guida
torna su Torna in cima