Mondadori Store

Trova Mondadori Store

Benvenuto
Accedi o registrati

lista preferiti

Per utilizzare la funzione prodotti desiderati devi accedere o registrarti

Vai al carrello
 prodotti nel carrello

Totale  articoli

0,00 € IVA Inclusa

Skin Deep
Skin Deep

Skin Deep

by Gavin Evans
pubblicato da Oneworld Publications

19,74
Disponibile in 1-2 settimane.
39 punti carta PAYBACK
Prodotto acquistabile con Carta del Docente e 18App
Aggiungi al carrello
Consegna gratuita con spesa totale superiore a 24€
facebook tweet linkedin whatsapp
Aggiungi al carrello
Consegna gratuita con spesa totale superiore a 24€
facebook tweet linkedin whatsapp

Everything you need to know about race (but were afraid to ask). MYTH: Early Europeans were white. REALITY: The first Europeans had dark skin, black, curly hair and blue eyes. MYTH: Between 50,000 and 70,000 years ago, a `cognitive revolution' led to the birth of culture in Europe. REALITY: Modern intelligence evolved tens of thousands of years earlier, leading to the birth of culture in Africa. Does racism have a rational basis in science? In Skin Deep, Gavin Evans tackles head-on the debate that has been raging on internet message boards and in academic journals. No longer limited to the fringe, race-based studies of intelligence have been discussed by thinkers such as Sam Harris and Jordan Peterson. If these studies were true, they would provide an intellectual justification for inequality and discrimination. Examining the latest research on how intelligence develops and laying out new discoveries in genetics, palaeontology, archaeology and anthropology to unearth the truth about our shared past, Skin Deep demolishes the pernicious myth that our race is our destiny and instead reveals what really makes us who we are.

La nostra recensione

`A world in thrall to far-right politics and ethnic nationalism demands vigilance. We must guard science against abuse and reinforce the essential unity of the human species. I am grateful that in Evans we have someone conscientious, brave and willing to do that.' * Nature * `With the probability that existing political and social tensions will be exacerbated by climate change, rising migration and conflicts over resources, these kinds of books are sorely needed.' * Literary Review * `Excellent! In Skin Deep, Gavin Evans lucidly and comprehensively demolishes the rationale and evidence of the so-called race science employed by some of our most privileged and respected scholars.' -- Stephen Oppenheimer, author of Out of Eden: The Peopling of the World and The Origins of the British `Well-researched and richly rewarding, Skin Deep methodically dismantles the quackery and junk science that seeks to justify economic inequality by appeals to racial difference. Given the insidious rise of pseudoscientific racism, Skin Deep is timely and urgent, its patient scholarship a fine antidote to the quackocracy's shrill rhetoric. In this spirit it will appeal to readers who enjoyed Ben Goldacre's Bad Science and I Think You'll Find It's A Bit More Complicated Than That.' -- Robert Newman, comedian and author `This book contains a wealth of information, old and new, about race and its underlying genetics. Everyone interested in the distinction between knowledge and prejudice in this sensitive and challenging subject should read it.' -- Jonathan Bard, Emeritus Professor, University of Edinburgh, and author of Principles of Evolution `Give it up for Gavin Evans's thorough and timely teardown of racial myths... This triumphant volume debunks such popular fallacies as race-based IQ differences, jumping genes, and predictable variations in brain size and development across different - and arbitrary - racial categories... The best defense against misinformation is knowledge, and Skin Deep is an invaluable tool to add to your arsenal.' * Foreword reviews * `[An] extensively researched and clearly articulated work of popular scholarship.' * Publishers Weekly *

Dettagli

Generi History » World History , Science & Nature » Biology & Life Sciences , Social Sciences » Anthropology » Sociology , Politics & Philosophy » Politics & Government

Editore Oneworld Publications

Formato Hardback

Pubblicato 29/08/2019

Pagine 384

Lingua Inglese

Isbn o codice id 9781786076229

0 recensioni dei lettori  media voto 0  su  5

Scrivi una recensione per "Skin Deep"

Skin Deep
 

Accedi o Registrati  per aggiungere una recensione

usa questo box per dare una valutazione all'articolo: leggi le linee guida
torna su Torna in cima