Mondadori Store

Trova Mondadori Store

Benvenuto
Accedi o registrati

lista preferiti

Per utilizzare la funzione prodotti desiderati devi accedere o registrarti

Vai al carrello
 prodotti nel carrello

Totale  articoli

0,00 € IVA Inclusa

The Gown
The Gown

The Gown

Jennifer Robson
pubblicato da Headline Publishing Group

Prezzo online:
10,67
Disponibile a partire dal 19/08/2020.
21 punti carta PAYBACK
Prodotto acquistabile con Carta del Docente e 18App
Condividi
facebook tweet linkedin whatsapp
Condividi
facebook tweet linkedin whatsapp

Perfect for anyone who's captivated by The Crown, The Gown 'will dazzle and delight' (Independent)! The Gown is an enthralling historical novel about one of the most famous wedding dresses of the twentieth century - Queen Elizabeth's wedding gown - and the fascinating women who made it. London, 1947: Besieged by a harsh winter, burdened by shortages and rationing, the people of post-war Britain are suffering despite their nation's recent victory. For Ann Hughes and Miriam Dassin, embroiderers at the famed Mayfair fashion house of Norman Hartnell, a glimmer of brightness comes in the form of their unlikely friendship and being chosen for a once-in-a-lifetime honour: taking part in the creation of Princess Elizabeth's wedding gown. Toronto, 2016: Heather Mackenzie seeks to unravel the mystery of a legacy from her late grandmother. How did her beloved nan, who never spoke of her old life in Britain, come to possess the priceless embroideries that so closely resemble the motifs on the stunning gown worn by Queen Elizabeth II at her wedding almost seventy years before? And what was her nan's connection to the celebrated textile artist and Holocaust survivor Miriam Dassin? With The Gown, Jennifer Robson takes us inside the workrooms where one of the most famous wedding gowns in history was created to tell a story of women whose lives are woven together by the pain of survival, the bonds of friendship, and the redemptive power of love. 'Robson succeeds in creating a riveting drama of female friendship, of lives fully lived despite unbearable loss, and of the steadfast effort required to bring forth beauty after surviving war' Independent 'A great tale of female friendship' The People's Friend

La nostra recensione

...meticulous attention to the historical detail of post-World War II London... A fascinating glimpse into the world of design, the healing power of art, and the importance of women's friendships * Kirkus * Robson vividly brings to life these three women's struggles. Historical details about fabric, embroidery, and the royal family are well incorporated into their stories, with light romance rounding out this charming work of historical fiction * Library Journal * Robson deftly weaves issues of class, trauma, romance, and female friendship with satisfying details of Ann and Miriam's craft. This unique take on the royal wedding will be an easy sell to fans of Netflix's The Crown and a sure bet for readers of women-centered historical fiction by Kate Morton, Kate Quinn, or Susanna Kearsley * Booklist starred review * Robson delivers a satisfying multi-generational epic ... Robson's meticulous attention to historical details - notably the intricacies of the embroidery work - is a wonderful complement to the memorable stories of Ann and Miriam, making for a winning, heartwarming tale * Publishers Weekly starred review * Embroidering a magical moment in royal history, Robson tells a heartrending story of friendship, loss, love, and redemption. -- Leslie Carroll, author of American Princess: The Love Story of Meghan Markle and Prince Harry A moving story about the power of female friendship and renewal in the face of adversity. Like the good luck sprig of heather hidden amid the embroidery on Princess Elizabeth's wedding dress, this story promises secrets and lives that bloom in unlikely ways. Perfect for fans of The Crown! -- Lauren Willig In The Gown, Jennifer Robson illuminates with her signature meticulous historical detail and sure voice the story behind Queen Elizabeth's wedding dress. Through the friendship of dressmakers Ann and Miriam, and the modern day mystery of a set of embroidered flowers, readers are drawn into an unforgettable story of friendship, hardship and hope. Robson has managed to craft a story that is personal and universal, timely and timeless. The Gown soars! -- Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author

Dettagli

Generi Literature & Fiction » Romance

Editore Headline Publishing Group

Formato Paperback / softback

Pubblicato 21/02/2019

Pagine 416

Lingua Inglese

Isbn o codice id 9781472262677

0 recensioni dei lettori  media voto 0  su  5

Scrivi una recensione per "The Gown"

The Gown
 

Accedi o Registrati  per aggiungere una recensione

usa questo box per dare una valutazione all'articolo: leggi le linee guida
torna su Torna in cima