Mondadori Store

Trova Mondadori Store

Benvenuto
Accedi o registrati

lista preferiti

Per utilizzare la funzione prodotti desiderati devi accedere o registrarti

Vai al carrello
 prodotti nel carrello

Totale  articoli

0,00 € IVA Inclusa

**A winning, irreverent debut novel about a family wrestling with its future and its pastfor readers of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Mona Simpson, and Jhumpa Lahiri

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE BOSTON GLOBE, KIRKUS REVIEWS, BUSTLE, AND EMILY GOULD, THE MILLIONS**

With depth, heart, and agility, debut novelist Mira Jacob takes us on a deftly plotted journey that ranges from 1970s India to suburban 1980s New Mexico to Seattle during the dot.com boom. The Sleepwalker's Guide to Dancing is an epic, irreverent testimony to the bonds of love, the pull of hope, and the power of making peace with life's uncertainties.

Celebrated brain surgeon Thomas Eapen has been sitting on his porch, talking to dead relatives. At least that is the story his wife, Kamala, prone to exaggeration, tells their daughter, Amina, a photographer living in Seattle.

Reluctantly Amina returns home and finds a situation that is far more complicated than her mother let on, with roots in a trip the family, including Amina's rebellious brother Akhil, took to India twenty years earlier. Confronted by Thomas's unwillingness to explain himself, strange looks from the hospital staff, and a series of puzzling items buried in her mother's garden, Amina soon realizes that the only way she can help her father is by coming to terms with her family's painful past. In doing so, she must reckon with the ghosts that haunt all of the Eapens.

Praise for The Sleepwalker's Guide to Dancing

"With wit and a rich understanding of human foibles, Jacob unspools a story that will touch your heart."***People***

"Optimistic, unpretentious and refreshingly witty."Associated Press

"By turns hilarious and tender and always attuned to shifts of emotion . . . [Jacob's] characters shimmer with life."Entertainment Weekly

"A rich, engrossing debut told with lightness and care."The Kansas City Star

"[A] sprawling, poignant, often humorous novel . . . Told with humor and sympathy for its characters, the book serves as a bittersweet lesson in the binding power of family, even when we seek to break out from it."O: The Oprah Magazine

"Moving forward and back in time, Jacob balances comedy and romance with indelible sorrow. . . . When her plot springs surprises, she lets them happen just as they do in life: blindsidingly right in the middle of things."***The Boston Globe***

Dettagli

Generi Romanzi e Letterature » Romanzi contemporanei » Saghe , Gialli Noir e Avventura » Saghe

Editore Random House Publishing Group

Formato Ebook con Adobe DRM

Pubblicato 01/07/2014

Lingua Inglese

EAN-13 9780812994797

0 recensioni dei lettori  media voto 0  su  5

Scrivi una recensione per "The Sleepwalker's Guide to Dancing"

The Sleepwalker
 

Accedi o Registrati  per aggiungere una recensione

usa questo box per dare una valutazione all'articolo: leggi le linee guida
torna su Torna in cima