Mondadori Store

Trova Mondadori Store

Benvenuto
Accedi o registrati

lista preferiti

Per utilizzare la funzione prodotti desiderati devi accedere o registrarti

Vai al carrello
 prodotti nel carrello

Totale  articoli

0,00 € IVA Inclusa

Stolen Beauty

Laurie Lico Albanese
pubblicato da Atria Books

Prezzo online:
15,78

"A powerful and important tale of love and war, art and familyI was transported." Allison Pataki, New York Times bestselling author

"Albanese artfully weaves Adele's story with Maria's harrowing life under the Nazis, but it's hard to read Stolen Beauty without seeing ugly echoes in today's headlines. Seven decades after World War II, have we learned nothing?" USA TODAY

From the dawn of the twentieth century to the devastation of World War II, this exhilarating novel of love, war, art, and family gives voice to two extraordinary women and brings to life the true story behind the creation and near destruction of Gustav Klimt's most remarkable paintings.

In the dazzling glitter of 1903 Vienna, Adele Bloch-Baueryoung, beautiful, brilliant, and Jewishmeets painter Gustav Klimt. Wealthy in everything but freedom, Adele embraces Klimt's renegade genius as the two awaken to the erotic possibilities on the canvas and beyond. Though they enjoy a life where sex and art are just beginning to break through the fa├žade of conventional society, the city is also troubled by a disturbing increase in anti-Semitism as political hatred simmers in the shadows of Adele's coffeehouse afternoons and cultural salons.

Nearly forty years later, Adele's niece Maria Altmann is a newlywed when the Nazis invade Austriaand overnight, her beloved Vienna becomes a war zone. When her husband is arrested and her family is forced out of their stately home, Maria must summon the courage and resilience that is her aunt's legacy if she is to survive and keep her loved onesand their historyalive.

Will Maria and her family escape the grip of Nazi rule? And what will become of the paintings for which her aunt sacrificed nearly everything?

Impeccably researched and a "must-read for fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Paula McLain's Circling the Sun" (Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author), Stolen Beauty juxtaposes passion and discovery against hatred and despair, and shines a light on our ability to love, to destroy, and above all, to endure.

Dettagli down

Generi Gialli Noir e Avventura » Romanzi storici , Romanzi e Letterature » Narrativa d'ambientazione storica » Autobiografie e biografie letterarie » Romanzi contemporanei

Editore Atria Books

Formato Ebook con Adobe DRM

Pubblicato 07/02/2017

Lingua Inglese

EAN-13 9781501132001

0 recensioni dei lettori  media voto 0  su  5

Scrivi una recensione per "Stolen Beauty"

Stolen Beauty
 

Accedi o Registrati  per aggiungere una recensione

usa questo box per dare una valutazione all'articolo: leggi le linee guida
torna su Torna in cima